He Brought Me To Tears (Again)

Holy WOW! David Cook brought me to tears last night with his version of Always Be My Baby by Mariah Carey. I keep trying to think how the Mariah Carey version goes – I remember it from my early high school days and can picture the video in my head, but can’t get the tune in my head. Oh well. David shined so much last night and a standing ovation from Randy Jackson was the icing on the cake. He made it his own and rocked the house down. I wanted to kill Simon with his karaoke reference, but as I thought about it – that was a shot to the previous singers and their version of the songs. I was just a tad emotional when listening to him speak. Then David started crying too – a lot of water works last night. Just a shining performance (I sound like Paula) and to have his brother Adam there meant the world to David. I’m really looking forward to hearing what Mariah Carey thought of the song.

This isn’t the first time David has brought me to tears with his music. The first time I heard Balance (Axium) I was balling like a big baby and when he sent me Makeover for a listen before it was released on an album I was speechless and crying. Balance is such a beautiful tribute song and Makeover was sent to me after a very heartbreaking breakup and everything in that song could have been MY life at the time. As much I loved the song I couldn’t listen to it without crying.

Life as we know it has changed for the better for David. I’m so glad his singing dreams are finally coming true. I always knew he was a rock star, but now the world knows it too. I’m glad I got to see him in a dinky dive bar. He has played in many, but those dive bars are a thing of the past for David now. Clubs, arenas, and stadiums are in his very near future. It doesn’t shock me in the least, but this is still all so surreal to me and I’m sure to the others that know him. Call me greedy, but his new album can’t come out soon enough.

One response to “He Brought Me To Tears (Again)

  1. That dinky dive bar was one of the most fun nights ever! :) I’m glad we got to experience that and have such a good time with him.

Leave a Reply

