To Cut or Not to Cut?

I’m having yet another hair dilemma. I have no idea what I want to do with my hair. I decided last time I got it colored and cut that I wanted to grow it out. It has grown out about 3-4 inches since I cut it all off at the end of December, but I really think I want my bob cut back, but slightly different this time too. The going back and forth on what to do with my hair is just a battle going on with me right now. I haven’t progressed to annoying those around me with what to do with it just yet. I’m sure that will be coming soon.

I’m lucky that my hair does look good either way, but you do look thinner with shorter hair when you have a round face. I look at my older pics with shorter hair and I do look a lot thinner. So that is a huge plus for shorter hair. My goal was to grow it out long enough to be able to donate to either Pantene or Locks of Love, but I don’t know if I am going to make it that long before I decide to just go cut it.

When I wash my hair, huge clumps of hair come out so the longer it gets the thinner it is going to look. I don’t want to have long gorgeous hair only for it to look thin. I think my hair is on the thin side, but my stylist says I have thick hair. My stylist thinks my conditioner is weighing my hair down which it very well could be, but it bothers me that I lose so much hair when I wash it. I use a good volumizing mousse and that helps quite a bit, but still not the volume I would like for my hair. *sigh*

Right now my hair is at that annoying length that I find myself putting it up when I am in bed. I cannot stand it down when I am lying on it. I like that I can put it up in a pony tail again, but it doesn’t do much else, but lay there when I am out and about. One side flips out when I straighten it and the other side curls under which is what I want all the way around my head.

There are pros and cons for short and long hair. The time it takes to do either is about the same. Short hair takes less time to dry, but I tend to straighten it longer so it’s as even as possible. Long hair takes quite a bit of time to dry, but with it all one length I just had to straighten it a little bit to add some more shine. The biggest con with long hair with me is that I do not know how to style my own hair. I am horrible with a curling iron and I don’t have long enough arms to be able to curl the back. I don’t know how some women do it. I envy those that can style their hair. Stacy curled my hair for my last birthday and with the two of us working on it – it took two hours. It looked gorgeous, but I can’t do that to my hair very often. The time alone would be too long and that two hours didn’t include washing and drying.

I really like the looks of Katie Holmes bob, minus the bangs. No way will I ever have bangs. I know I need to make an appointment to do something to make it look thicker. Either more layers or more razor texture because this flat hair that I have now does nothing for me. I think I just convinced myself to actually make an appointment. We’ll see if I have the guts to go through with it.

Leave a Reply

