10 Year High School Reunion

My 10 year high school reunion is this weekend and I am being really indecisive about going. The planning commitee threw this together pretty quickly and the plus side it is going to be low cost for everyone, but on the downside it is stuff that Sioux Falls people do every year. There is a facebook group giving an idea who is going and it is no one I hung out with in high school.

Now this is where I flip flop. I just discovered a My Space page for the reunion tonight and there are a few other people on there that might show up that I would be happy to see. Whether they are going or not I do not know. I just requested to add one of my best friends from high school

The thing is I am not where I want to be at 28. I’m getting closer to where I want to be, but not quite there yet. Yes, I know health problems have set me back in school, relationships, and what not, but what do I bring to the reunion when everyone is talking about their family and kids. I have one degree, a sweet boyfriend, and the fact that I travel and I know a lot of rock bands under my belt. It’s something, I guess. I don’t know why I am so keen on comparing myself with everyone else — I shouldn’t. Especially when I haven’t seen any of them in TEN years. I see there are lot people that are in the same boat as me too. I guess I just thought I would have a family by now. I’m a year away from all that — well, a little longer for the kids I assume, but everything else I hope falls into place once I graduate. Might be a little more than a year, but I am setting a goal of not much longer than a year and that’s final. Once I get a good job and start pursuing some business opportunities I hope other life things will start falling into place. Don’t get me wrong — I am happy and healthy right now and that is what is important. It could be worse.

I think I am going to go back and forth on this until 8:30 PM on Friday night when the festivities are to beging. Nate said he would go with me, but he might have to get extremely drunk first. That’s fine with me as long as I get to have a few too. He didn’t like his reunion last year and he won’t know anyone at mine. I guess if I do go and I don’t like it I can always leave. I just do not want to regret not going.

One response to “10 Year High School Reunion

  1. GO! You won’t regret going, you will regret not going…Even if there’s not many people you “hung out” with when you were in HS, you’ll probably find that there are people whom you have things in common with now and will get along gloriously. The people you hung with back then may be totally opposite of someone you might want to spend time with now…I ended up having a BLAST at mine & spent time with people I had little or nothing to do with in HS…

Leave a Reply

